Water

by summerexile

This world I was born into saddens me.  I’m caught in the midst of a binary decision.  How easy it would be to make you proud, but I wouldn’t be making myself proud.  Isn’t that, as a society, what we should really hope for the individual?  But, elders have advice, and I would be rude not to listen.  They don’t want me making the same mistakes they did.  But, they did make those mistakes.  They want me to follow the path they wish they had.  But, they didn’t follow that path.  STOP, stop trying to mold me into what you were not.  If I end up better than you, then it will be my own choices that have driven me there.

Then, I look around to my contemporaries.  We’re so caught up listening to our elders and trying to make them proud.  I want to grab them and shake them and say to each one of them, “God dammit, are you proud of your life so far?  Have you done what makes you happy?  Have you made the world better than you found it?”  I haven’t.  I try to be good and promote equality and happiness, but all I’ve done is follow the path set for me by my elders.  I haven’t done what makes me happy.  I’m sure as hell not proud of myself.  That must mean I have at least a few more years on this earth to be a voice for you.  All the lost boys out there, the ones like me, with no idea why we’ve spent this time in college.  Those with no career goals, because our entire lives have been wasted with a sole focus on school and part time jobs.  I say to you all, join me.  Make yourself proud.  Do what makes you happy.

I can assure all of you elders, that we will not be lazy.  There is something very special about a man doing what he loves.  He can work his ass off with a smile on his face.  We are all hard workers, that’s how we’ve gotten through school all these years when we never truly cared.  We poured our sweat into these degrees, and now what are they worth?

I don’t want you to think that, through this description, I have been a robot in our society, working hard to please you.  Like any hard working man I had to quench my thirst.  I fell in love with music and books and nature.  They reminded me that there are more people out there like me, saddened by the world.  They reminded me that this world and all of it’s wondrous beauty will last long after this society has fallen.  They reminded me of the power of words.

Lost boys, drink your water, whatever has quenched your thirst through these trials.  Remember what it has meant to you, and pursue it.